Since July 2013 non-EU citizens travelling to Europe have needed a valid passport with the following criteria:

  • its validity shall last until at least three months after the intended date of departure from the territory of the Member States
  • it shall have been issued within the previous 10 years.

For EU citizens travelling to Hungary a valid passport (or valid ID) necessary, the validity should exceed 3 months.  No visa needed if the planned stay is no longer than 90 days, and the purpose of the visit is not employment or other income-earning activity.

Hungary is a member of the Schengen Treaty Area; therefore, if you have a valid Schengen visa, you can use it to travel to Hungary as well. The Schengen area countries include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Foreigners planning to visit Hungary for a period longer than 90 days, or with the purpose of employment or other income-earning activity, should apply for visa.

Visa Facilitation Agreements (VFAs) between the European Union and certain third countries on the facilitation of the issuance of visas provide procedural facilitations for nationals of specific third countries without altering the conditions for issuing visas. Nine VFAs are currently in force with the Russian Federation, Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, the Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia and Ukraine.

Citizens of the United States of America and Canada traveling for any purpose but employment, immigration or studies do not need a visa for up to 90 days stay in Hungary.

For rules, exceptions and for contact to local Embassy of Hungary please check: